On this page

The Board of Directors welcomes your views and questions on matters of governance.

Governance Officer
Pearson College UWC
650 Pearson College Drive
Victoria BC, V9C 4H7
P 250-391-2411 | Email

Pearson College UWC is incorporated by the official designation Lester B. Pearson College of the Pacific and United World Colleges (Canada) Inc. under the Canada Corporations Act. The College is also registered under the British Columbia Society Act as an extra-provincial society and is a registered charity under the Federal Income Tax Act. Pearson College UWC is one of 18 United World Colleges (UWCs) located throughout the world. Although affiliated with UWC, Pearson College UWC operates as an autonomous entity governed by our Board of Directors. The College also works closely with the UWC National Committee for Canada, whose role is to reach into all ten provinces and three territories for student selection across the country.

The governance document outlines the Board’s mandate and the roles and responsibilities of the Directors and Board Committees.

Board of Directors

Ms. Lori Sterling

Chair of the Board of Directors

Year 2/1977

Toronto, ON

Senior Counsel, Bennett Jones LLP

Mr. Yazann Romahi 

Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors

Year 19/1994

London, UK

PhD, CFA, managing director, CIO for Quantitative Beta Strategies, J.P. Morgan Asset Management

Ms. Anita George

Year 4/1979

New Delhi, India

Advisor for the International Solar Alliance, the Berkeley Center’s India Energy Transition Center, and the Chandrakanta Kesavan Energy Policy and Climate Solutions Center
Learn more

Mr. Geoffrey S. Turner

Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors

Year 10/1985

Toronto, ON

Tax Lawyer and Senior Counsel, Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP

Ms. Gloria Metzger

Victoria, BC

Education Consultant

Ms. Heather Lapper

Tsawwassen, BC

Development Manager, International Baccalaureate

Mr. Joseph Lougheed

Calgary, AB

Corporate Legal Partner, Dentons

Mr. Matteo Stefanel

Year 19/1994

Milan, Italy & London, UK

Financial Services, Apis Partners

Mr. Michael Stubbing

Victoria, BC

Tax Services, Grant Thornton

Mr. Olaolu Adeleye

Victoria, BC

Senior Consultant, Deloitte Consulting
Associate Faculty, Royal Roads University

Mr. Owen Teo

Year 15/1990

Ottawa, ON

Director of Strategic Integration at the Office of the Chief Information Officer, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

Mr. William Morris 

Year 20/1995

Tsartlip First Nation

Director of Stewardship, Tsartlip First Nation

Governance and By-laws

The By-Laws approved at the Annual General Meeting in October 2013 with subsequent revisions around membership approved at the Annual General Meeting in November 2014.

Nomination and Election Policy and Procedure

The Nomination and Election Policy and Procedure outlines how nominations and elections for the College Board take place. A nomination period is established annually by the Governance Committee. Nominations for election periods are normally announced prior to the Annual General Meeting in November.

Board Vacancies

The Pearson College UWC Board of Directors members are normally elected to three-year terms and are eligible to serve up to two consecutive terms. This is a skills-based board that seeks committed and skilled directors in accordance with board policies, including its Diversity Policy. If you would like to nominate someone to the College’s Board, please use this form.

Board History

Read about the history of the College Board.